As a jew, I have many, many, many holidays to celebrate throughout the year such as Purim, Passover, Rosh Hashana, and many more. But of all of the Jewish holidays, my favourite is Hanukah. I like Hanukkah because of the length, the gifts/money, and also the food.

I like the length because it is eight whole days of nightly family dinners. And almost every night is with my grandparents, my uncles/aunts, my saba or savta, my cousins, etc. And this is really special because sometimes I get to see my cousins from Toronto who I only get to see a few times a year for other high holidays. Its also really special because I never get to have dinner as a family with my Mom, Brother, Dad, and Sister.

I also like Hanukkah because of the gifts that you get every night of Hanukkah. What my family does is on the first night then they either give a small gift or no gift and then work there way up to something really big. I like that they do this because it makes the excitement even bigger every night!

My last reason I think that Hanukkah is the best holiday is the delicious food that you get! And my favourites are the sufganiyot which are jelly filled powdered donuts and the latkas that are fried potato pancakes. Also, there is also delicious chocolate gelt which is chocolate money that is wrapped tight in golden tin foil.

I hope that I taught you something if have never heard of Hanukkah or if you do at least entertained you. We also have many other traditions like playing dreidel for the gelt. The way that you play dreidel is you have four Hebrew letters that all mean different things. If you get Nun then you get nothing. Gimel means that you get everything. Hey means that you get half of the gelt. Shin means that you put 1 piece of gelt in the middle for somebody to get. Leave a comment and tell me what you thought about my post.

 

 

s2dent / Pixabay

 

 

My Favorite Jewish Holiday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *